Ikeda Center Staff

Richard Yoshimachi

Richard Yoshimachi, richard.yoshimachi[at]ikedacenter.org
Richard is President and Executive Director of the Ikeda Center, providing direction and leadership. Prior to joining the Center in 2009, Richard served as director of the SGI's Washington DC Culture Center. From 1998-2003, Richard was the executive director of the traveling exhibition Linus Pauling and the 20th Century. Read More »

Virginia Straus Benson

Virginia Straus Benson, vbenson[at]ikedacenter.org
Ginny is Senior Research Fellow at the Ikeda Center. She was executive director of the Center from its founding in 1993 to June 2009. Prior to that, Ginny co-directed a Boston-based public policy institute and was as an urban policy aide in the Carter White House. She earned a Masters degree in US area studies from the University of London. Read More »

Mitch Bogen

Mitch Bogen, mbogen[at]ikedacenter.org
Mitch is Publications Associate. In addition to assisting with editing and managing book production he serves as webmaster for the Center. Mitch has been a writer and editor for a number of educational nonprofits, taught comparative religions at the college level, and been a contributor to the Harvard Education Letter. Read More »

Lizzy Buechel

Lizzy Buechel, adminassist[at]ikedacenter.org
Lizzy is our Administrative and Special Events Assistant for Spring 2017. She is a fourth year student at Northeastern University where she is pursuing a degree in International Affairs and Political Science, with a concentration in Middle East Studies. She is currently motivated by promoting peace and human rights locally. Read More »

Jeff Farr

Jeff Farr, jfarr[at]ikedacenter.org
Jeff is Editorial Manager at the Ikeda Center, serving as lead editor on book projects. Jeff worked as a writer and editor at SGI-USA publications for 12 years before joining the Center in December 2007. Prior to that he taught sociology courses on film and popular culture at Arizona State University. Read More »

Masashiro Hagiya

Masashiro Hagiya, mhagiya[at]ikedacenter.org
Masa Hagiya is Treasurer and IT Manager at the Ikeda Center. Additional responsibilities include community relations and English-Japanese translation. He has worked at the Center since its founding in 1993. Previously, Masa worked in New York City in the field of import operations. He received an MBA from American University. Read More »

Kevin Maher

Kevin Maher, kmaher[at]ikedacenter.org

Kevin Maher is Events Manager, organizing all public forums and seminars. He also manages the Education Fellows program, which advances scholarship on Soka education. Kevin joined the Center in 2002, and is passionate about social justice, human rights, and nonviolent social change. Read More »

Masao Yokota

Masao Yokota, myokota[at]ikedacenter.org
Masao Yokota is Advisor to the Center, having served as president from its founding in 1993 to June 2009. He also serves as Deputy Vice President of Soka Gakkai International (SGI) and Research Fellow of the Institute of Oriental Philosophy in Japan. Additionally, Masao is correspondent to Seikyo News in Japan. Read More »

Beth Zimmerman

Beth Zimmerman, bzimmerman[at]ikedacenter.org
Beth is the Center Coordinator. Prior to joining the BRC in 1996, Beth worked to empower young people through the arts in human service and educational settings. She earned her MA in Creative Arts Therapy from Lesley University. Read More »

Print Friendly and PDF